+

Google Accounts - adding, removing, syncing

The first time you turn on and set up your phone, you are prompted to sign in with your Google Account or, if you don't already have one, to create one. If you skipped this step in the setup process, you can add your Google Account any time later.

An email address that you use for any of the following counts as a Google Account:

  • Gmail™
  • YouTube™
  • Any other Google product

Keep everything synced and backed up with a Google Account

When you sign in with your Google Account, all your email, contacts, calendar events, and other data associated with that account is automatically synchronized with your phone. You can adjust what kinds of data are synced in the "Accounts" settings. Apart from being synced, the data associated with your Google Account is also backed up to Google servers.

Add a Google Account

You can add multiple Google Accounts on your phone.

  1. On a Home screen, touch the Menu key (=).
  2. Touch "System settings".
  3. In the "Accounts" section, touch "+ Add account".
  4. Touch "Google".
  5. Follow the onscreen instructions to enter information about your account.

Once you've added your Google Account, your email associated with this account will appear in the Gmail app , your calendar(s) associated with your Google Account will appear in the Calendar app , and your Google contacts will appear in the People app .

Remove a Google Account

If you remove a Google Account from your phone, the account and all the information associated with it will be deleted from your phone, including email, contacts, calendar events, settings, etc.

  1. On a Home screen, touch the Menu key (=).
  2. Touch "System settings".
  3. In the "Accounts" section, touch "Google".
  4. Touch the name of the account you want to remove.
  5. In the "Sync screen", touch the Menu key (=).
  6. Touch "Remove account".
  7. To confirm, touch "Remove account" in the dialog that opens.

Control what gets synced

For Google Accounts syncing is two-directional. This means that changes that you make to the information on your phone are also made to the copy of that information on the web. You can enable and disable synchronization of certain types of data associated with your Google Account, e.g. contacts, calendar, Drive, etc.

If sync is enabled, the data will be synced automatically. If you disable sync for some types of data, the data will stop being kept in sync with the version on the web.

To access sync settings for your Google Account:

  1. On a Home screen, touch the Menu key (=).
  2. Touch "System settings".
  3. In the "Accounts" section, touch "Google".
  4. Touch the name of the account whose settings you want to adjust.
  5. Tick off the types of data (e.g. Calendar, Contacts, App data, etc.) you want to get synced, and remove the check mark next to those that you don't by touching them.

Change Google Account settings

The Google Settings app gives you shortcuts to various settings related to your Google Account, including Google+, Google location settings, Google Now, Google ads, etc.

You can also access these settings in the following way:

  1. On a Home screen, touch the Menu key (=).
  2. Touch "System settings".
  3. Under "ACCOUNTS", touch "Google".

To change Gmail account settings, do the following:

  1. Open the Gmail app .
  2. Touch the Navigation drawer icon in the top left corner.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the Navigation drawer, and touch "Settings".
  4. For general Gmail settings, touch "General settings". The changes you make here will apply to all the Gmail accounts you add on your phone.
  5. For account-specific settings, touch the name of the account (e-mail address) whose settings you want to change. The changes you make here will only apply to this particular account.